Any academics?

Is there anyone in the academic/higher ed/research profession? I’m in the humanities and am completing a dissertation. Wondering if there are any more here.

5 Likes

I’m from the area of ​​applied social sciences, I’m completing my first graduation

I’m in grad school as well.

I’m working on a masters in comp sci

1 Like

I had a dissertation halfway written in a previous life, ended up leaving for industry but I think about going back

yes! Just finished my first year of my masters, planning to teach in higher ed part time when I graduate

Starting my final year of undergrad right now

Yes, Ph.D., but in Engineering.

Not in academia, but I have a question for those posting. I know our lives don’t revolve our fetish but I’m curious if any of you have done any research projects on this fetish or fetishism at large?

(I’m a filmmaker and I’ve contemplated making a documentary about the fetish for years, but have never found out how to do it honestly without outing myself or if maybe I just should.)

I’m also just always curious to hear more academically minded discussion of our fetish since it’s something that’s had a major impact on my life and yet there’s basically no info about it outside of here.

2 Likes

It would be interesting to have one that was a neutral story about people with fetishes. A lot of fetish documentaries tend to just go for shock value. Maybe you could make it about this general group of fetishes which you could just tell people you found at random rather than being specifically into it yourself.

2 Likes

There are some attempts to do this in the fart fetish community through audio and written content. Nobody wants to do video because they don’t want to share their face. Something creative is probably the best we’d get. I doubt we will get much academic research on the subject.