Potential Documentary on the Community

Hi guys.

I want to preface everything I’m about to type by saying that this might never come to pass and if it does it will not be for some time. This post is a first outward step in a process I’ve long been considering and I’m at the point where I’m wondering the viability, scale, and potential support of such a project.

I’m a filmmaker and artist. A young and unemployed one, but one nonetheless. For the time being this is as much of my personal life as I’ll introduce you to that I haven’t already mentioned in previous responses. Since coming to realize that I had a burp fetish, something which has fundamentally shaped my view of myself and my sexuality (most for the worse), it’s been a part of myself that I’ve hidden away. For many years early on I refused to even refer to myself by such words, and then I’d avoid actually using words like “burp” while describing expereinces tied to the fetish in journals in fear that the documents would be discovered by someone. I don’t think having a certain amount of shame around our fetish is unusual but as an artist, and particularly one who has made extremely personal and revealing works about myself, it’s been a notable omissison from my attempts to expose myself fully to an audience. I’m ashamed of many thing but the specifics of my fetish, even if I have admitted to some close persons that I have some kind of fetish, have been my one secret, knowing that as soon as that pandora’s box is opened, I will no longer be in control of such a secret. Whether I have been so successful is debatable and there have been enough close calls and near references that I feel certain someone that knows me must suspect. But because of the importance of the fetish on my life, that aforementioned shame has been a major undercurrent of artistic works I’ve made even if the source has been abstracted or written around. I’ve always felt that at some point, I would have to finally let out all of the pent-up